Board of Directors

The board of Watkins College of Art includes many luminaries in the arts, business, and philanthropy ecosystems—all of whom are passionate about the quality of the work being done at the college.

Board of Trustees


Steve Sirls (Chair)
Taylor H. Henry (Treasurer)


Susan A. Basham
James H. Clayton III
Walter Knestrick


Beth Scott Clayton Amos
Joan Cheek
Stephanie Conner
Tory Fitzgibbon
Brooke Porter Hawkins
Mary J. Hawkins
James R. Kelley
Kristin Laine
Laurence M. (Larry) Papel
Samantha Saturn
Santi Tefel
Laura Turner
William (Bill) Warfield
Waddell H. Wright

Trustees Emeriti

Ward DeWitt, Jr.
Ralph T. Glassford
Lee Ann Hawkins
Lucille Nabors
Paulette Whitworth

Ex Officio

J. Kline, PhD, President, Watkins College of Art
Bill Lee, Governor, State of Tennessee
Herbert H. Slatery III, Attorney General, State of Tennessee